Digital Innovation Greenhouse

Want to use a tool in your class, consult with developers, or propose an initiative for DIG? Contact us here. If you are a student, find paid fellowships here.

Innovation Meets Scale

The University of Michigan is a rich ecosystem of educational innovation, however not all initiatives have the opportunity to mature or are widely adopted. Digital enterprises too often lack the resources to fully grow from early innovation to widespread adoption.  The Digital Innovation Greenhouse (DIG) exists as both a response and solution to this challenge. DIG works with user communities to grow tools to maturity, and establishes a pathway to scale through collaboration across U-M’s digital ecosystem. With a team of developers, designers, behavioral scientists, data scientists and student fellows, DIG helps translate digital engagement tools from innovation to infrastructure.






The DIG Roadmap

  • The History of DIG

    In 2015 the Personalizing at Scale project is funded through the Third Century Initiative Intensifying Student Learning grant.  In the summer of of 2015 DIG hires a team of software developers to begin refining and growing ART 2.0, Student Explorer, and ECoach.  This team of developers establishes the DIG Student Fellows Program to provide additional expertise with educational tool development around programming, user experience design and community of practice management.   In the fall of 2015 students arrive back on campus and are able to benefit from the revamped tools in the DIG portfolio.  

  • Now

    DIG is developing personalized educational technology that will have a massive positive impact on the U-M residential experience for both undergraduate and graduate students across campus.  These tools will be used by U-M students, faculty, and staff and will provide unique pathways for success not previously possible at the University.

  • Long Term Goal

    In 2020 DIG is helping the University scale and adopt a wide variety of educational software innovations from the University’s research community, working with their user communities to grow them to maturity, and establishing a pathway to scale through collaboration across U-M’s digital ecosystem.  These innovations are improving learning outcomes for wide cross-section of University students, faculty and staff and have helped U-M lead the way in redefining residential education in the 21st Century.

Development & Design

Holly Derry, Lead Behavioral Scientist

Carly Thanhouser, Behavioral Scientist

Ben Hayward, Lead Developer

Cait Holman, Lead Developer, Doctoral Candidate, School of Information

Kris Steinhoff, Lead Developer

Chris Teplovs, Lead Developer

Dave Harlan, Developer

Kushank Raghav, Developer

Marie Hooper, User Interface Developer/Designer

Mike Wojan, User Experience Designer

Kyle Schulz, Data Scientist

Project Team

Timothy McKay, DIG Faculty Director

Mike Daniel, Director of Policy and Operations

August Evrard, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Physics, ART 2.0 Team Lead

Anne Gere, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Education, Professor of English Language and Literature,  Director of Sweetland Writing Center, M-Write Team Co-Lead

Ginger Shultz, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, M-Write Team Co-Lead

Barry Fishman, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Information and Professor of Education, GradeCraft Team Lead

Stephanie Teasley, Research Faculty, School of Information, Student Explorer Team Lead

Rachel Niemer, Director of Digital Pedagogy & Learning Communities

Advisory Board

Timothy McKay, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Physics, E2Coach Team Lead

Perry Samson, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences, Entrepreneurial Opportunities Lead

Barry Fishman, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Information and Professor of Education, GradeCraft Team Lead

James DeVaney, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Innovation

Mark Bacon, Senior Manager,  Management Information Systems, LSA

Student Fellows

Jaee Apte, School of Information

Jessamine Bartley-Matthews, School of Information

Ann Carroll Burke, LSA and School of Education

Monica Chen, School of Information

Wake Coulter, Stamps School of Art & Design

Dana Demsky, Stamps School of Art & Design

Mikaela Gonzalez, LSA and School of Information

Yidi Hong, School of Information

Yu Liu, School of Information

Jianming Sang, Rackham Graduate School

Pavi Vetriselvan, Literature, Science & the Arts

Jun Wang, Rackham Graduate School

Marisa Xheka, School of Information